Whole30: Day 2 {Recipes}

I didn’t plan on writing about my Whole30 everyday, but I am finding it motivating. Anything that helps me get through this month! Today was easier than yesterday, which is the opposite of everything I have read. I think a big part of that has to do with what we ate today. I tried two new meals and they turned out awesome! Both left me satisfied, which I didn’t feel yesterday.

Whole30 Taco Salad with Creamy Avocado dressing

The first was my lunch, a yummy taco salad! I based it loosely on this recipe. I browned my beef, then seasoned it with equal parts cumin, onion power, garlic powder, and chili powder (about 1 teaspoon of each) a dash of salt and pepper and about 1/4 cup of water. I used romaine lettuce, for a nice crunch, as well as shredded carrots and tomatoes. I topped it off with a thick creamy dressing made from one avocado, the juice of one lime, a few pinches of fresh cilantro, and enough tatemada salsa to get it all to blend in my magic bullet blender. The result was delicious! I think I might try it with chicken tomorrow!

Roasted Italian Chicken ThighsFor dinner I made Roasted Italian Chicken Thighs. To make this I mixed ghee with garlic and some italian seasonings (fresh herbs would probably taste even better). I used bone-in chicken thighs with skin, patted them dry and then rubbed the ghee mixture over and under the skin. I chopped up an onion, drizzled it with a little olive oil and layered the chicken over the onion in a big baking dish. I lightly salted the top and then baked it uncovered at 400 degrees for about an hour. Everyone seemed to like it! My toddler came back to the table a while after dinner and wanted seconds! 

I am starting to become more aware of the times of the day that I eat out of habit and boredom and more in tune with when I am actually hungry. I would still love to eat a bowl of ice cream in front of the tv but I am not hungry. Thankfully, this sugar urge is a little less persistent today than it was yesterday. Fingers crossed that it continues to get a little easier!

One thought on “Whole30: Day 2 {Recipes}

What do you think?

