Whole30: Day 6

How’s it going to far?

The last two days I have been grumpy and short-tempered. Most of the time I am fine, but if one little thing goes awry, then All. Hell. Breaks. Loose. I am crossing my fingers that this side effect goes away quickly! So far, the cravings have been manageable. I think this is do in part to the strictness of the program, it’s not a question of if I should indulge or how much should I indulge, the answer is simply, no.

Meal Planning and Shopping:

Today I planned all our meals for the next week and went grocery shopping. We still have a lot of meat on hand, so I mostly bought fruit and vegetables. Lately, Andrew and the girls have been eating their weight in fruit. Likely, a lot more than is recommend for the Whole30. However, as far as my girls are concerned, I have a hard time saying no to fruit, so I have started offering protein and veggies first and then finishing with fruit. (Pictured is only half of the fruit I bought, not pictured is raspberries, strawberries, grapes, nectarines, and peaches, all in Costco-sized proportions)

Whole30: Fruit bowl

I have been shocked and humbled to discover that a handful of people actually read and follow this little blog! Thank you! Since many of you are here because I am writing about my Whole30 experience, I thought it might be helpful to post my meal plan, so I am posting the rough outline I have for our dinners and veggies I have planned for this week. I tend to pick the vegetables the day of depending on what sounds good/ how much time I have. As far as breakfast goes, I am not super creative and tend to just eat some variation of eggs; scrambled with green onion, soft boiled over spinach, omelet with spinach and chicken, or hash browns and fried eggs. For lunch I have been eating left overs or taco salad but I plan to try a chicken salad with grapes, apples, and cashews over spinach sometime this week.

Dinners:

Monday – Chicken Tortilla-less Soup

Tuesday – Italian Roast Chicken (again, since everyone really liked it)

Wednesday – Steak

Thursday – Artichoke Chicken Thighs

Friday – Easy Paleo Chicken Curry and Roasted Cauliflower “Rice”

Saturday – Grilled Chicken with Tarragon Mushroom Cream Sauce and Quick Baked Potatoes

Sunday – Pot Roast

Vegetables:

Steamed Broccoli, Carrots, Cauliflower, or Green beans

Salad (with Tessamae dressing)

Baked or Mashed Potatoes

Marinated Veggies – (Substitute soy sauce for coconut aminos)

Green Bean Amandine

Cauliflower Carrot Herb Mash

Simple Oven-Baked Carrots

5 thoughts on “Whole30: Day 6

What do you think?

