Whole30: Day 9

I watched the movie Fed Up this afternoon. It is a documentary about how deadly and addictive sugar is. I highly recommend seeing it. My heart broke for the overweight and obese kids in this movie. I had a glimpse of that pain in middle school.

My mom took me to the doctor when I packed on 50 pounds in less than a year. She was understandably worried and concerned for me and had the doctor run some tests. If I recall correctly, one of those tests was a blood test that determined that I had high cholesterol. I was chubby and depressed and didn’t understand what was going on with me.

This documentary explained so much about what was going on. Middle School was the first time candy, treats, and greasy foods were available at every lunch and after school in the student store. My mom only gave me money to buy a school lunch once a week, but what she probably wasn’t aware of is how often I spent my own money to buy hostess cupcakes to go with the lunches she packed. They came in packs of three and I could not resist those things. If that wasn’t enough, I also sold See’s chocolate bars to make money for camp. I am pretty sure I singlehandedly paid for camp that year with all of the chocolate I sold to myself. 

What is so scary about sugar is all the places it’s hidden. It is added into everything. The movie stated that of all processed food on the market, 80% have ADDED sugar. My mom tried hard to provide us with nutritious meals at home but she was powerless to stop me from finding sugar-laden food elsewhere.

My biggest hope is that this Whole30 will help me find the strength and knowledge to live on less sugar. I hope to provide my two girls a home of clean, healthy, whole foods where sugar is a rarity. I pray they are able to resist sugar’s temptation better than I have.

2 thoughts on “Whole30: Day 9

What do you think?

